BJP leads in all seven Delhi Lok Sabha seats, trends show

In a significant electoral development, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leads in all seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, with candidates like Kamaljeet Sehrawat and Yogender Chandoloya securing notable margins, according to Election Commission trends.

As the nation awaits the outcome of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken a decisive lead in all seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, as indicated by trends released by the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday.

Notably, Kamaljeet Sehrawat, the BJP candidate for West Delhi, leads with a substantial margin of over 12,400 votes, while Yogender Chandoloya, contesting from Northwest Delhi, maintains a lead of over 16,000 votes, according to EC data.

The intricate process of counting over 89.21 lakh votes in Delhi commenced at 8:00 AM across the city’s seven constituencies, with the tallying being conducted at seven designated locations. In northeast Delhi, the counting operations are underway at ITI Nand Nagri, while in east Delhi, it is held at Commonwealth Games Village, Akshardham.

Delhi’s political landscape is characterised by a fierce three-way battle among the BJP, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), and Congress. The capital holds substantial electoral significance among Union Territories with its seven Lok Sabha seats.

Presently, the BJP holds MPs representing all seven Lok Sabha constituencies in Delhi. Congress contests three seats, while the AAP vies for four seats as part of the INDI alliance.

A meticulous counting process, spanning around 21 to 28 rounds, is underway to tabulate the total of 89,21,495 votes, with a turnout of 58.69% of electorates, comprising 59.03% men, 58.29% women, and 28.01% third-gender individuals.

Projections from the News18 Poll Hub Mega Exit Poll anticipate a clean sweep for the BJP in the national capital, with the NDA alliance expected to secure 5-7 seats. Conversely, the I.N.D.I.A. bloc is predicted to secure 0-2 seats only, indicating a formidable performance by the BJP in Delhi’s electoral arena.