Narendra Modi hosts high tea meeting ahead of swearing-in ceremony

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi convened a crucial high tea meeting, gathering prospective Cabinet members for discussions ahead of the swearing-in ceremony. The diverse assembly reflects the NDA’s collaborative approach to governance.

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi convened an essential high tea meeting on Sunday, gathering members of Parliament expected to join his new Cabinet and Council of Ministers. The assembly convened at his official residence on 7 Lok Kalyan Marg in New Delhi and set the stage for the upcoming grand swearing-in ceremony slated for later in the evening.

The customary tea meeting, a tradition observed by Modi, brought together a diverse mix of seasoned leaders and fresh faces, indicative of the upcoming administration’s composition. Participants included former Haryana Chief Minister and Karnal MP Manohar Lal Khattar, who shed light on the event’s significance. Khattar’s presence, along with Rao Inderjit Singh and Krishan Pal Gurjar, underscored the representation of various regions and communities within the NDA.

Ramdas Athawale, a Rajya Sabha MP from the Republican Party of India, confirmed his inclusion in the new ministry, highlighting the pride associated with Modi’s third term. With approximately 60 NDA leaders in attendance, the tea meeting set the stage for collaborative governance and collective action.

BJP leader Gajendra Singh Shekhawat expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve in Modi’s team for the third consecutive time, emphasizing a commitment to fulfilling promises and meeting national aspirations.

Prominent figures like Ramnath Thakur, Giriraj Singh, and Ajay Tamta shared similar sentiments, acknowledging the honour of working under Modi’s leadership and pledging dedication to the nation’s development.

Notable BJP leaders, including Manohar Lal Khattar, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Dharmendra Pradhan, and Piyush Goyal, were among the attendees, indicating their roles in shaping the new government’s direction.

Despite electoral setbacks, former Congress MP Ravneet Singh Bittu and LJP (Ram Vilas) chief Chirag Paswan were also present, hinting at their potential inclusion in the Cabinet. The meeting saw the participation of senior leaders Rajnath Singh, Kiren Rijiju, and Jyotiraditya Scindia, further highlighting the breadth of representation within the NDA.

Modi’s impending oath-taking ceremony, scheduled for 7:15 PM at Rashtrapati Bhavan, signifies the culmination of the NDA’s unanimous decision to elect him as their leader.