TDP surges ahead in Andhra Pradesh, BJP makes strides in Odisha: Early election trends

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has pulled ahead in Andhra Pradesh Assembly polls, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) makes significant gains in Odisha, according to initial election trends.

In a dramatic turn of events, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has surged past the halfway mark in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly polls, according to early trends, leaving the ruling YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) trailing with gains on only 10 seats. Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is making significant strides in Odisha, leading on 28 seats, while Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is trailing behind.

The intense counting of votes for the Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha commenced at 8 am, marking a crucial juncture in the political landscape of both states. In Odisha, where 147 members are set to be elected to the state’s Legislative Assembly, the ruling BJD, under the leadership of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, is eyeing yet another term, having maintained its stronghold for over two decades.

The electoral battlefield in Andhra Pradesh saw fierce competition between the YSRCP and TDP, with Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy seeking to retain power against the formidable challenge posed by TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu and Jana Sena Party’s (JSP) Pawan Kalyan. Notably, the TDP contested on 144 seats, while the YSRCP vied for victory on all 175 seats alone, with additional contenders including the BJP and JSP.

As the counting progresses, attention is riveted on key battlegrounds where every seat holds significance in shaping the future trajectory of these states’ politics. With the TDP’s remarkable lead in Andhra Pradesh and the BJP’s notable gains in Odisha, the electoral dynamics are poised for further shifts as the results unfold.