Turkmenistan’s Ongoing Transformation: New villages and administrative changes

Under the visionary leadership of President Serdar Berdimuhamedov, Turkmenistan is embarking on a journey towards a powerful, revitalized state, ushering in an era of socio-economic growth that steadily elevates the quality of life for its citizens.

In the heart of this transformation lies the successful realization of goals outlined in the “National Program of the President of Turkmenistan to enhance the social and living conditions in villages, towns, cities, etraps, and etrap centers until 2028.” The latest evidence of this progress can be found in the newly established settlements within the Gokdepe etrap of the Ahal velayat.

In response to the aspirations of Gokdepe etrap’s residents, as well as petitions from the Ahal velayat hakimlik and the recommendations of the Cabinet of Ministers of Turkmenistan, the Mejlis of Turkmenistan has undertaken the following measures:

1. Naming and Classification: The newly created settlements in the Gokdepe etrap of Ahal velayat have been officially designated as villages. Accordingly, the village situated within the Kopetdag geneshlik is now known as “Kopetdagyn yalkymy,” while the village located in the Ovadandepe geneshlik is named “Nurly Zaman.” Henceforth, they will be referred to as “the village of Kopetdagyn yalkymy of the Kopetdag geneshlik, Gokdepe etrap, Ahal velayat” and “the village of Nurly Zaman of the Ovadandepe geneshlik, Gokdepe etrap, Ahal velayat,” respectively.

2. Administrative Center Relocation: The administrative center of the Kopetdag geneshlik in the Gokdepe etrap of Ahal velayat has been relocated to the village of Kopetdagyn yalkymy. Similarly, the administrative center of the Ovadandepe geneshlik in the same etrap has been moved to the village of Nurly Zaman.

3. Boundary Definition: The Ministry of Agriculture of Turkmenistan, in collaboration with the Ahal velayat hakimlik, will undertake the task of accurately delineating the administrative-territorial boundaries of the newly designated villages, Kopetdagyn yalkymy and Nurly Zaman, within the Kopetdag and Ovadandepe geneshliks of the Gokdepe etrap, Ahal velayat, following established procedures.

4. List of Administrative-Territorial Units: To reflect these changes, the Mejlis of Turkmenistan will make necessary amendments to the List of administrative-territorial units of Turkmenistan, as initially approved by Resolution № 112-IV on May 10, 2010.

These strategic administrative modifications represent just a fraction of Turkmenistan’s ongoing commitment to enhancing the well-being of its citizens and fortifying its position as a dynamic and forward-looking nation under President Serdar Berdimuhamedov’s enlightened leadership.